Gone Without A Trace by Mary Torjussen

Published: March 23rd, 2017
Publisher: 
Headline Publishing

GONE WITHOUT A TRACE by Mary Torjussen is a chilling, twisty, compulsive thriller about a woman whose boyfriend has vanished. Fans of I LET YOU GO and THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN will be gripped.

No one ever disappears completely…

You leave for work one morning.

Another day in your normal life.

Until you come home to discover that your boyfriend has gone.
His belongings have disappeared.
He hasn’t been at work for weeks.
It’s as if he never existed.

But that’s not possible, is it?

And there is worse still to come.

Because just as you are searching for him
someone is also watching you”

Review:

First, I’d like to thank Netgalley, Headline Publishing, and Mary Torjussen for sending me an advanced copy to read in exchange for an honest review. I know that the book was published back in March, but here is my review!

The beginning of this book definitely caught my attention. Hannah goes to work one day, very happy and content with life. When she returns home, her world is shattered when she not only finds her boyfriend not there, but no trace of him. At all. She moves around the house not finding anything of his. Pictures, clothes, etc., are all gone. I wouldn’t know what to do. I’d be furious, hurt, numb, and lastly, inquisitive of where and why he left.

After that initial grab, I really struggled through the middle section of the book. I feel like I didn’t really connect to any of the characters and I didn’t really like them either. I feel like there were just filler words being put there instead of substance that the book needed. From 20% in, I felt like I was reading the same thing over and over again. Even though my page number was increasing, I wasn’t grasping really anything new. If you are a fan of slow burn, this is a really slow burn.

After contemplating stopping a few times, I decided that I just wanted to see how it ended. I could finish it in a few hours if I really sat down and read it. I reached 70%, and I was so happy that something finally happened. I’ve never given up on a book, so, I was excited to see something catch my attention. However, it was a little short lived. I saw some other things coming from some foreshadowing earlier in the book, but there was one specific part that I did not see coming. I was grateful for that.

Overall, I wasn’t a big fan of this novel. This was described as a gripping, twisty, chilling and compulsive. Looking back at this book, I would say that it was somewhat twisty, but the rest, I didn’t see it being like that. Thank you again for the advanced copy!

Rating: 2.5/5 stars.

4 thoughts on “Gone Without A Trace by Mary Torjussen

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s